Beauty Review: Maybelline Color Tattoo 24hr cream gel eyeshadows

Hi beauties!

So I’ve finally decided to give my thoughts on the very much talked about Maybelline Color Tattoo 24hr cream gel eyeshadows. I have been using them for about 2 months now and I thought was a good time to really test them out and tell you what I think. I haven’t worn every color that I own because my profession doesn’t allow too bright of looks but I have tested them out on arm for almost a good 24hrs.

So what are the Maybelline color tattoos is something that your probably asking. They are cream gel eyeshadows that do remind me of MAC paint pots but the colors are very bright. They are a cream gel eyeshadow but when they dry depending on the finish it looks like regular eyeshadow. They are supposed to last 24hrs which I will tell you my opinion on that claim in a bit. I didn’t get all 10 shades but I do have 6 of them which is a good amount. These are the colors that I knew I would wear more and some that I want to wear more and be more bold with my eye looks.

So the colors that I own are Promegrante Punk, Edgy Emerald, Painted Purple, Audacious Asphalt, Fierce & Tangy and Bad to the Bronze. I missing Too Cool (white), Tough as Taupe (matte brown), Tenacious Teal (blue) and Bold Gold (bronzy gold). I will probably go looking for Tough as Taupe and Bold Gold.

I am in love with the colors, they are bright and vivid and apply great. My favorite of the group is Bad to the Bronze, I wear it everyday. It is simple and gets me out the door. I wear it alone and apply a eyeshadow to my crease from one of my Urban Decay Naked palettes. It seriously is the best color. It has a frost/shimmer to it so if you’re not a fan of frosty or shimmer eyeshadows you may not like it on its own but if you apply a matte eyeshadow on top then it will be great.

The wear time of the eyeshadows are great in my opinion. I have swatched them on my arm and they don’t move. I can lay on my arm and none of the color will transfer after I let it set. I have to say I have not worn the shadows without a primer on my eye. I can’t go a day without primer because it’s embedded in my makeup routine. So I can’t say that they wear great without a primer but with a primer they are amazing. I haven’t experienced any creasing. I apply them with my fingers because I find that it applies best that way.

I can’t compare them to MAC paint pots because I only own two and I am not a huge fan of paint pots. The ones I own aren’t special in terms of color. So in this department I am not an expert on which is best but they are significantly cheaper than paint pots so that is plus.

The Maybelline cream gel eyeshadows I wear as a base really to bright up my looks and on it on and it is a really great eyeshadow. I haven’t used them as eyeliner but I’m sure that they will work just a great as an eyeliner since they are cream gel eyeshadows.

I do have one warning about Painted Purple, it is probably the only one that has terrible payoff when applied to the eyelids. You will see in my swatches that it applies great but for some reason on the eyelids, it is sheer and I have to coat my eyelids with twice as much product and I still don’t get the pay off that I want so it is being used solely as a base for my purple eyeshadows. Other than that one tiny complaint, they are perfect!

So on to the pictures!

\

Audacious Asphalt

Audacious Asphalt

Bad to the Bronze

Bad to the Bronze

Pomegranate Punk

Pomegranate Punk

Edgy Emerald

Edgy Emerald

Painted Purple

Painted Purple

Fierce & Tangy

Fierce & Tangy

With flash

Close up with flash

As for the price of them, I have seen it vary depending on where you go from $6.99 to $8.99. I found most of mine a Target and a few select CVSs. It really depends on the area you live and what your beauty store carries. I would look around if your going to drugstores. I don’t know if these are permanent or just a collection that they put out but if not then I will be buying a backup of Bad to the Bronze as soon as I find it again because I love it so much!

I hope this review helped and please let me know what other products you would like to review in the future and what information you would like me to include for next time so I can refine my product review. 🙂

XO, Tavi

1 comment
  1. Melissa said:

    I saw them today at Meijer in MI for 5.99 regular price, they finally seem to be going down in price! Great review, Im thinkig of getting some 🙂

Leave a Reply

