Julep Maven: First Impressions

So I decided after seeing so much hype on the different vlogs and blogs to try the Julep nail polishes and sign up for the Maven box subscription. So basically every month for $19.99 you get a box of new nail polishes. Some are from their permanent line and others are exclusives that haven’t been released to the public. You also receive something extra to enhance your mani/pedi experience. Mine was a hand scrub (which I love!). It’s a sneak peek box of new products. So naturally, I’m overly excited to subscribe to this membership. Seeing that the nail polishes individually are $14.00 a bottle and at least with the maven box you will get two polishes, I believe. My first box came with two so that is what I am assuming.

So here is their description of the Maven program off the website:

Being a Maven, gives you exclusive access to COLOR!  You get it first, and YOU decide how often you want to receive your beauty editor Sneak Peek Box
For just $19.99 a month, you’ll receive over $40 worth of trendsetting polish colors and cutting-edge treatment products each month customized in a gift-able Sneak Peek Box
Each Sneak Peek Box features new, never before released colors and treatments FIRST to you, before anyone else
Your box also includes hits and cult favorites – the products we like to keep on the top of editors’ minds
20% off all julep.com purchases
FREE shipping on ALL your purchases
Each box also comes with a surprise and delight element- something to look forward to!
Receive additional membership perks throughout the year

 
So after reading that your all ready to sign up right! Well after much difficulty of receiving my box, my first shipment was stolen. I finally received my replacement and I was not overly impressed. I have pictures of the my nails with both polishes and they just didn’t impress me. Well Shania (silver) did more than Lindsay (dark purple).

Lindsay was the most difficult polish I have every applied. It was runny/watery and I felt like I had used half the bottle applying it to my hands. After one manicure, I can see the level of the polish has changed. I don’t know about you but with my other polishes I have never seen the level move no matter how many times I used the polish. With Shania the application was better. I didn’t feel like I was using so much product. It wasn’t dripping off the brush as Lindsay.

Here are pictures below of me first trying out the polishes. I tried to show how runny Lindsay was compared to Shania.

Lindsay (left); Shania (right)

 

Uplcose view of the application

 

Lindsay (left); Shania (right)

 

View of how the product was too watery for application

 

This one was not as watery out of the tube

 

Glycolic Hand Scrub

 

I tried to show in the pictures how watery Lindsay is but not sure it came across. Overall, my first impression of the nail polish is not a good one. I don’t like how I feel like I’m using so much polish for just two coats. I can say that the finish after all the mess was cleaned up from the application was nice. I used my Sally Hansen Mega Shine top coat to give it the high gloss finish.  I do like the hand scrub and will be repurchasing that when I run out. It gives a nice finish to my manicures. I haven’t canceled my subscription as of yet to Julep because you have to call them to cancel which I think is such a hassle. I don’t have time to call to cancel and rather just send an e-mail. I also don’t like that when my package was shipped out I was sent a confirmation e-mail to track my package which lead to the first one being stolen. They will charge you the  $19.99 and shipped a product anyway if you don’t select skip this month between the 20th-25th of each month. Unlike my shoe memberships, you don’t receive a credit, they will just ship you a box anyway. So I’m going to give my selections another try this month and see if I want to purchase again but so far this was not something I’m enjoying.

Hope this review helped some of you that were thinking of subscribing.

XO, Tavi

1 comment

Leave a Reply

